Who's Who in the Pierre Auger Collaboration


Spokespersons (more information)

  • Karl-Heinz Kampert (Spokesperson – Wuppertal)
  • Antonio Bueno (Co-spokesperson – Granada)


Previous Spokespersons (more information)

  • Jim Matthews (Former co-spokesperson – Louisiana State U)
  • Giorgio Matthiae (Former spokesperson – Rome)
  • Paul Sommers (Former co-spokesperson – PSU)
  • Johannes Blümer (Former co-spokesperson – KIT)
  • James W. Cronin (Emeritus – University of Chicago, deceased 25. Aug. 2016)
  • Alan A. Watson (Emeritus – University of Leeds)


Project Managers

  • Ingo Allekotte (Project Manager – Bariloche)
  • Patrick Stassi (Deputy Project Manager – Grenoble)
  • Paul Mantsch (Former Project Manager – Fermilab)
  • Jonny Kleinfeller (Former Project Manager – Malargüe)
  • Carlos Hojvat (Former Deputy Project Manager – Fermilab)


Project Management Team (KIT)

  • Anna Friedrich (Project Secretary)
  • Bianca Keilhauer (Cost and Schedule Officer)
  • Matthias Kleifges (Technical engineer & Health, Safety and Environment)
  • Beatrix von Puttkamer (Webmaster)
  • Claudia Schäfer (Admin)


Collaboration Board

  • Lukas Nellen (Chair - Mexico)
  • Lorenzo Perrone (Co-Chair - Lecce)

Ex-officio members include Auger Spokespersons, CB Chairperson and Co-Chairperson, Project Managers, Site Managers and site Spokespersons, and Task-Leaders


Science and Performance Coordinators

  • Michael Unger, Piera Ghia (Analysis Coordinators)
  • Lorenzo Perrone, Tiina Suomijarvi (Performance Coordinators)


Science and Performance Task Leaders

  • Analysis Foundations
    I. Lhenry-Yvon, M. Roth, B. Dawson
  • Calibration Analysis
    G. Salina
  • Monitoring Analysis
    J. Rautenberg, C. Berat
  • Atmospheric Conditions
    L. Valore, B. Keilhauer
  • Operation / Long Term Performance
    P. Assis, C. Di Giulio
  • Spectrum
    V. Verzi, I. Valiño
  • Arrival Directions
    M. Mostafa, E. Moura Santos
  • Composition
    J. Bellido, A. Yushkov
  • Air Shower Physics
    L. Cazon, T. Pierog
  • Cosmic Ray Phenomenology
    S. Petrera, S. Mollerach
  • Cosmo-geophysics
    R. Mussa, H. Asorey


Site Spokesperson

  • Alberto Etchegoyen (CNEA)


Site Manager

  • Gualberto Avila (CNEA)


Site Staff

  • Ricardo Sato (Science Operations Coordinator - SD)
  • Mariano Del Rio (Science Operations Coordinator - FD)
  • Jonny Kleinfeller (Site Engineering Coordinator)
  • Rubén Squartini (Computer Systems Administrator)
  • Fernando Contreras (Systems Engineer)
  • Jorge Rodriguez (Lidar and Atmospheric Monitoring Engineer)
  • Primo Vitale (Fluorescence Detectors Maintenance Engineer)
  • Rosa Inés Pacheco (Secretary of Management)
  • Ricardo Pérez (Building and Grounds Manager)
  • José Escalona (Environment, Health and Safety)
  • Juan Pablo Gongora (SDE Engineer)
  • Fabián Gobbi (Engineer)
  • Marcos Cerda (Engineer)
  • Yamila Gonzalez (Accounting)
  • Jesica Velasquez (Computing and Maintenance)
  • Leandro Gomez (FD/HEAT Technician)
  • Oscar Sáez (SD Electronics)
  • Mauro Gajardo (SD Electronics)
  • Miguel Salvadores (SD Assembly and Deployment)
  • Raúl Vidal (SD Technician)
  • Mario Rodríguez (Mechanical Technician)
  • Javier Salinas (Mechanical Technician)
  • Roberto Moyano (Electrician)
  • Pedro Barraza (Electrician & Water Plant Operator)
  • Analía Caceres (Visitor's Center)
  • Alexis Rodríguez (Maintenance and Night Watcher)
  • Jorge Alcalde (Maintenance and Night Watcher)
  • Juan Blanco (Maintenance and Night Watcher)
  • Ivan Munoz (Maintenance and Night Watcher)
  • Jose Rojas (Maintenance and Night Watcher)
  • Isabel Farías (Cleaning Service)
  • Marta Gonzalez (Cleaning Service)
  • Andrés Travaini (INFN Fellow, engineer)


Tasks & Sub-Tasks

  • Fluorescence Detector
    Radomir Smida (Task Leader - Karlsruhe)
    Jonny Kleinfeller (Co-Task Leader - Auger Observatory)
    • Mirrors and Related Optics
      P. Schovanek (Olomouc)
    • Camera
      Valerio Verzi (Rome)
    • Calibration
    • Atmospheric Monitoring
      Lawrence Wiencke (Mines)
      Bianca Keilhauer (Karlsruhe)
  • Fluorescence Detector Electronics
    Matthias Kleifges (Task Leader - Karlsruhe)
  • Surface Detector Systems
    Peter Mazur (Task Leader - Fermilab)
    Fred Sarazin (Co-Task Leader – Mines)
  • Surface Detector Electronics
    Tiina Suomijarvi (Task Leader - Orsay)
    James Beatty (Co-Task Leader - Ohio State)
  • Surface Scintillation Detector
    Daniele Martello (Task Leader - Lecce)
    Ralph Engel (Task Leader - Karlsruhe)
  • Communications (to be updated)
    Corbin Covault (Task Leader – Case Western)
    • Surface Detector Communications Antenna Systems
    • Wireless LAN Network
    • Backbone Network
    • Antennae, Propagation
    • Mechanical Integration Liaison
    • Wide Area Networks
    • Local Area Network
  • Central Data Acquisition System
    Antoine Letessier-Selvon (Task Leader - Paris)
  • Monitoring
    Julian Rautenberg (Task Leader - Wuppertal)
    Corinne Berat (Co-Task Leader - Grenoble)
  • Data Processing and Analysis
    Tom Paul (Task Leader - Northeastern)
    Lukas Nellen (Co-Task Leader - UNAM)
  • AMIGA (Auger Muons and Infill for the Ground Array)
    Alberto Etchegoyen (Task Leader – CNEA)
    • Simulation, data acquisition and reconstruction subtask
      Federico Sánchez (ITeDA)
    • Scintillator modules
      Federico Suarez (ITeDA)
    • Opto electronics
      Agustín Lucero (ITeDA)
    • Telecommunications subtask
      Manuel Platino (ITeDa)
    • Electronics design, commissioning and interconnection
      Oscar Wainberg (ITeDA)
    • Photovoltaic
      Beatriz Garcia (Mendoza)
    • Deployment
      Nicolás Leal (Auger Observatory)
    • WBS
      Gerardo Sceberas (ITeDA)
  • Education – Outreach
    Greg Snow (Leader - University of Nebraska)
    Arnulfo Zepeda (Co-leader-Cinvestav-Mexico)
    Charles Timmermans (Netherlands, IMAPP)
  • AERA
    Jörg Hörandel (Task Leader - IMAPP)
    Andreas Haungs (Co-Task Leader - Karlsruhe)
    Tim Huege (Co-Task Leader - Karlsruhe)
  • Data Release Task
    Andreas Haungs (Task Leader - Karlsruhe)
  • Microwave Detection R&D Task Force
    Romain Gaior (Task Force Coordinator - Paris)



  • Publication Committee
    Carola Dobrigkeit – Chair
    Roger Clay
    Diego Harari
    Darko Veberic
    Stephane Coutu
  • Conference Committee
    Antonella Castellina – Chair
    Isabelle Lhenry-Yvon
    Miguel Mostafá
    Vitor de Souza


Last updated 27 June 2017